AFTRA is an intergovernmental organisation. Therefore, only corporate bodies are AFTRA members except for individuals honoured as Fellows and Honorary Life Members.

Two categories of AFTRA corporate membership are:

1. Full Membership – National ministries of education, national teaching councils, national agencies set up for the employment and regulation of the teaching profession, African Union and United Nations agencies, and Africa regional economic and development communities.

2. Associate Membership – National teachers’ unions, universities, faculties/institutes/colleges of education, education directorates of the national armed forces, national and international education associations, international development partners, and national and international non-governmental organisations.

To be admitted, a corporate body can download, complete and submit a membership form via the email indicated on the form.